PDA

View Full Version : Runaways

Fisherman
04-12-2010, 10:26 AM
I mentioned this in a previous thread, but Runaways has taken me totally off-guard and has become the second-most engaging comic series in recent memory for me (the first being Y the Last Man).

This one debuted in 2003, but as it happens, I'm just getting into it now. I like to let a comic run to its entirety before getting into them. I don't so much read comics as I consume them.

I'm partway through the second series of these comics (was happily surprised a few days ago to find out that there was a second series!) and I'm loving it. If you have someone in your life that you want to get into comics, this is the series to give them. Definitely fan service for Marvel fans, but it is the most accessible comic I've ever read. Give it a shot.

daCooksta
04-13-2010, 08:52 AM
What's it about?

And I read Y:TLM after someone here suggested it. Very, very awesome.

Fisherman
04-13-2010, 09:49 AM
What's it about?

And I read Y:TLM after someone here suggested it. Very, very awesome.

The main characters in Runaways are teens between 16 and 18 that bear witness to their parents carrying out a sacrifice, and come to realize that they are a secret organization of super-villains. They run away from home and try to figure out what's going on with their parents in the first series. Can't say much more without spoiling it.

The second series expands their role in the Marvel universe more and has cameo appearances from multiple Marvel characters.

daCooksta
04-13-2010, 03:42 PM
The main characters in Runaways are teens between 16 and 18 that bear witness to their parents carrying out a sacrifice, and come to realize that they are a secret organization of super-villains. They run away from home and try to figure out what's going on with their parents in the first series. Can't say much more without spoiling it.